This usually happens if any one of the user accounts gets logged on with a temporary profile. In such scenarios, any changes that you make to the current desktop are lost after you log off the system. If this happens, then Windows Easy Transfer will not run, but instead, inform you about it.

You’re currently logged on using a temporary profile

Create a system restore point first. Next, using the WinX Menu, open Run, type regedit, and hit Enter to open the Registry Editor. Navigate to the following registry key:

Identify the SID or Security Identifier that contains a .bak extension. Delete all such .bak entries. In my case, I found 1. I right-clicked on it and then selected Delete. Close Regedit. Now open C:\Users folder and identify the temporary user profile folders. Back these temporary user profile folders to another location, so that you can access them if you feel the need. Later on, you can always delete these too.

I found three, which I deleted. I next restarted my computer and found that I was able to run the Windows Easy Transfer wizard.

How do I fix logged in with a temporary profile?

To fix the Logged in with a temporary profile error, you need to delete some keys from the Registry Editor. For that, navigate this path: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\ProfileList in the Registry Editor and find out all the SIDs that have .bak extension. Right-click on each of them, select the Delete option and click on the OK button.

Why am I being signed in with a temporary profile?

Although it is a rare problem, it may happen to you. If your user profile gets corrupted due to some adware, malware, virus, or any other reason, you will be signed in with a temporary profile. As a result, you will get the aforementioned error while signing in to your account. This worked for me and I hope it works for you too.